After purchasing your vehicle, you can use temporary tags to drive until you register and obtain new license plates.
If you intend to own a vehicle in Alaska, you must register it at the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
There are two standard types of plates to choose from:
You can also choose from a range of specialty license plates. See below for more options.
In Alaska, you can choose from a range of different license plate styles with elaborate decals and designs. Depending on which plate you want, pricing will vary. Here is a list of possible specialty license plates in Alaska:
If you plan on getting a custom style plate with a unique design, there are a few guidelines to follow from the DMV:
Applying for a special plate is as simple checking off the box and paying any associated fees. If you want to see which names are available for your custom plate, you can use this FindByPlate.com free license plate search tool.
When you have registered your vehicle, you will be expected to pay a fee based on the weight of your vehicle and the type of license plates you want. The following are the costs of license plates in Alaska:
Remember, these fees do not include any additional taxes subjected to the type of vehicle you drive.
In Alaska, you are not permitted to transfer your standard license plates. This means, when you purchase a new vehicle, you have to get a new set of plates. Or, if you sell your car, your license plates will remain with that vehicle.
However, you are permitted to transfer your personalized or any other specialized plates made for your vehicle.
If you change your license plates, you must surrender your previous plates. You can send your old plates to a local DMV office in person or by mail.
Should your alaskan license plate get stolen or lost, you should immediately inform the local authorities. By law, you are not required to report stolen plates but doing so could prevent them from being abused or used by others.
Afterward, you can apply for replacements by visiting the DMV in person or sending an application by mail.
If you have to obtain new license plates, you’ll need the following:
If you’re traveling to Alaska, you are permitted to drive through the state for only 60 days with your out-of-state license plates.
If you are living in Alaska, you are required to register your vehicle and obtain the appropriate plates within 30 days of purchase. Remember, to legally drive your car you need temporary plates when returning from a dealership and driving to the DMV.
Also, if you establish residency in Alaska, you are obligated to register your vehicle within 10 days.
There are numerous remote locations throughout Alaska. For those that live more than 50 miles away from a DMV location, you can register, renew, and apply for plates by mail.
For anyone living within 50 miles of a DMV office, they must visit the office in person to register their vehicle and apply for their plates.
When you’re applying for an Alaskan license plate in person, be sure to bring the following:
For more details, contact your local DMV.
In the event that you have to leave Alaska during the registration process, you can apply for a refund. Not all situations are eligible for a refund, however to see if you can get your money back you have to fill on the Customer Refund Request. Afterward, your case will be reviewed and responded as soon as possible.
If you want to get more information about a vehicle, such as obtaining a vehicle history report before purchasing, you can use this free license plate search tool.
This tool allows you to search for available license plate numbers, review a background of a car’s history, and other information about the plate or vehicle associated to it.
Here is a step by step guide on how to lookup Alaska License Plates and report bad drivers: