Vehicles in Georgia must be registered and have license plates in order to drive them legally. You can personalize your license plates and look up available license plate numbers online. License plates in Georgia are regulated by the Department of Revenue.
Driving a vehicle in Georgia requires a license plate issued from the Department of Revenue (DOR).
You’ll need license plates if you drive any of the following:
There are various types of license plates in Georgia, including:
You’ll get a standard set of license plates when you register your car. You must keep your registration valid by renewing your plates every year.
If you want to have unique characters on your license plate, you should consider vanity plates. They cost $90 for the initial registration and $55 each time you renew them.
Vanity plates in Georgia are known as Special Prestige License Plates. You must follow the state’s regulations to be approved for these special plates:
You can check to see if the license plate number you want is available online.
Aside from Special Prestige License Plates, you can also choose from a variety of specialized license plates.
Georgia has a collection of beautiful and iconic license plates. Here are some examples:
You must visit a Tag Office in Georgia to register your vehicle and apply for your license plates. When you go to the office, you should have:
After you have registered your vehicle and received your plates, you must renew your vehicles tags each year.
The validation sticker in the bottom right corner of your license plates indicates when your vehicle’s registration will expire. Be sure to return to your local tag office to renew your registration. You may receive a notification in the mail.
To renew your vehicle’s license plates, you can do so:
After you have paid the appropriate fees for your license plate renewal, you’ll receive new decals to put on. You don’t have to wait for the day that your decals expire—put the new ones on the moment you receive them.
To properly replace your stolen license place and decals, you must file a police report. Afterward, you have to go to the tag office to apply for new plates.
Replacing stolen plates requires:
For damaged plates, you must surrender your places to the tag office. For lost plates, you must also pay a replacement fee to obtain new license plates.
In Georgia, unlike other states, you do not have to surrender your license plates if you move to a new city. However, in some cases you may have to surrender your license plates if you violate traffic law, if you abandon your vehicle, or for other reasons.
Remember, after you obtain your license plates, they become your property and belong to you.
If you are selling your motorcycle and buying a new one, you can easily transfer your license plate over. However, you cannot transfer your license plate from one vehicle type to another.
You must go to the tag office within 7 days to submit the paperwork in person. There is a $20 transfer fee on top of registration and title fees.
Here are some of the fees mentioned in this post, as well as some other fees for license plates in Georgia:
Other fees, such as taxes, may also be applicable to your vehicle’s registration.
It is possible to look up license plate numbers in Georgia. If you are purchasing a used car, you can obtain a report about the vehicle. This kind of information can inform you before you make a substantial financial investment.
Here is a step-by-step guide on how to look up Georgia License Plates and report bad drivers: